Download this release in PDF format

Our Promise, Their Future

Monday, April 19, 2010

ESPAÑOLA, N.M. - Emma and Robert are high school students with clear goals. "With the skills I'll acquire in medical school, I plan to serve underprivileged areas of the United States and abroad," says Emma Carroll from Los Alamos High.

"Becoming a doctor will allow me to give back to a world that has provided an abundance of opportunities to me," says Robert Deburlo, a student at Taos High School.  Deburlo wants to "join Doctors Without Borders, and go wherever the need is greatest."

Both of these exemplary students have just received, along with 53 other students in New Mexico, monetary awards from the Los Alamos Employees' Scholarship Fund (LAESF) for 2010.   Emma and Robert, along with Paulina Naranjo, a Bronze Award winner from McCurdy High School, exemplify the thinking behind helping students further their education.

While LAESF provides New Mexico students with the funds required to build their careers, it also inspires scholarship recipients to nurture the dreams of future generations.

"My aspiration is to one day come back to my Pueblo community and use what I have learned in college to help my people," Naranjo says.  "I feel that I can be a positive role model for the youth of my pueblo by showing them that college can be a goal that they can also achieve."       

"Please join me in congratulating these outstanding students," says Susan Herrera, CEO of the Los Alamos National Lab Foundation.  "These young New Mexicans show so much promise in their academics and their future careers in science, medicine and engineering.  The LAESF Board is proud to be able to recognize them and offer scholarships."

The 55 scholarship recipients from 23 New Mexico high schools and colleges are Miles Carlsten, Emma Carroll, Kathy Lin, Katherine Rooney, Sandra Zerkle, Bryn Smith, Patricia Stan, Jenny Tumas, Matt Whicker from Los Alamos High School; John Sarracino, Sergio Gonzales, Jaime Velasquez, Kaila Matthews from St. Michael's High; Anna Baecker, Mariah Galvez from Mesa Vista High; Estevan Trujillo, Carlos Casados from Escalante High; Desiree Garcia from Penasco High; Dionna Montoya, Dominic Martinez, Tatiana Espinoza, Christina Schroedle from Pojoaque Valley High School; Paulina Naranjo, Sophie Swingle and Dennis Trujillo from McCurdy High School; Angela Schmitz from Coronado High; Fernando Sinaloa, Cassandra Valdez from Espanola Valley High; Miquela Trujillo from New Mexico Institute of Mining & Technology; Kori Archuleta, Elias Pacheco, Margarita Gonzalez from Pecos High School; Clint Brayfield, Leah Lucero from Robertson High School; Esperanza Saiz from West Las Vegas High School; Joseph Torres from New Mexico Highlands; Loretta Gallegos from Victory Christian School; Victoria Lucero from Jemez Valley High School; Brittany Achille from Academy for Technology; Jake Harbour, Caitlin Kossmann, Selina Martinez, Grey Wilburn from Santa Fe Prep; Ian McMahon, Madia Stein from Monte del Sol; Joshua Rael, Jacqueline Smith, Diego Trujillo from Santa Fe High School; Jacob Torres from Northern NM College; Aleksandra Vidisheva from Desert Academy; Jennifer Archuleta, Carrico Torres, Robert Deburlo, Ryan MacLennan, Magdalena Manning from Taos High.

"The exorbitant costs of top colleges and universities make it very difficult for students to move on after high school in their academic careers," adds Herrera. "LAESF takes New Mexico's students a few steps closer to realizing their goals, which in the end benefits our state as a whole. If our families cannot afford higher education at top schools around the country, where will we find the doctors, scientists and professionals of the future?"

The Los Alamos Employees' Scholarship Fund is a testament to the generosity of LANL employees and retirees and their ongoing commitment to the advancement and well-being of New Mexico's youth.

The Los Alamos Employees' Scholarship Fund has helped more than 500 Northern New Mexico students realize their college dreams. The Scholarship Fund provides scholarships to students pursuing higher degrees in science, technology, engineering and mathematics. The scholarship recipients are from Los Alamos, Mora, Rio Arriba, Sandoval, San Miguel, Santa Fe and Taos counties.  In 2007, Los Alamos National Security, LLC, started matching employee donations dollar for dollar, up to $250,000, during the campaign. To date, the Los Alamos Employees Scholarship Fund has raised $1.75 million for New Mexico students.  

WHAT:  Los Alamos Employees' Scholarship Fund (LAESF) 2010 recipients.
CONTACT: For more information about the scholarship fund or the campaign drive, contact Tony Fox, Scholarship Program Officer, (505) 753-8890, tony@lanlfoundation.org, 

The mission of LAESF is to propel Northern New Mexico students to the limits of their imagination and ensure a bright future for our community. LAESF was started by a group of LANL employees who recognized both the financial need and incontestable potential of local students.  Awards are based on academic performance, leadership potential, critical thinking skills and career goals. Financial need, diversity and regional representation are integral components of the selections process. (Since its inception, LAESF has raised $1.75 million and made possible 500 scholarships for students attending accredited institutions across the country.) 



Jennifer Marshall